AMA Citation Guide
AMA Manual of Style by Call Number: 808.06661 M319ISBN: 9780195176339Publication Date: 2007-03-15For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research andpublishing has become ever more complex. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style, published in early 2007, brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective.In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts ofinterest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature.JAMA and the Archives Journals, one of the most groups of medical publications in the world, have lent members of their expert staff of professional journal editors to the committee that has produced this edition. Extensively peer-reviewed, the 10th edition provides a welcome and improved standardfor the growing international medical community. More than a style manual, this 10th edition offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific researchconfront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.
More AMA Help
- AMA Style Insider Blog
The official AMA style blog posts weekly about changes related to the 11th edition.
- Citing Medicine: The NLM NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
The American Medical Association (AMA), International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) and the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) established uniform requirements for manuscript submission to ensure consistency within medical reporting. Citing Medicine contains samples of formatted references and is frequently updated. Please see AMA manual of Style 11th ed. 3.1 for more information on style uniformity.
- Crossref for DOI lookup
A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string that identifies content and provides a persistent link to its location on the internet- regardless of the database the article is retrieved from. When possible, always include the DOI.
- JAMA Instructions for Authors
The Journal of the American Medical Association has thorough submission guidelines for formatting a variety of manuscripts. The Determine My Article Type section may be particularly helpful prior to submission.
- National Library of Medicine Journal Abreviations
When referencing a journal in AMA style, journal titles are always italicized and abbreviated. Standard abbreviations may be searched through the link above. Similarly, verifying that the journal is indexed within the NLM will help you avoid citing predatory journals.
- AMA Manual of Style Website (11th ed.)
The AMA Manual of Style website provides information on new policies, notices of updates to the manual and style quizzes. Refer to the eBook or print edition to see full contents of the manual as published in 2020.
- AMA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue University - Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Grammarly
Grammarly -- An program that corrects your grammar in your papers and helps to make your writing more understandable
Zotero - Citation Manager
Zotero is a reference manager that can help you organize your citations and create a bibliography. Directions for using Zotero can be found in the PDF below.
- Zotero
Download the Zotero Chrome extension and desktop application to begin saving articles and create bibliographies
- Zotero Guide (12/19)
A PDF guide to downloading and using the Zotero reference manager.
