Finding Articles
Image credit: Timothy Hughes Rare and Early Newspapers
Image credit: Library of Congress
Image credit: Art.Com
Image Credit: Creative Cloud
Recommended Resources
Use these databases to search for Scholarly History Journal Articles (Secondary Sources)
Other Databases
If you are at another library conducting research, you may want to see if they have access to this database:
America: History and Life (for comprehensive research on American history)
Multidisciplinary Resources
Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are also an important part of your research.
Search Tips
Here are two strategies to use when keyword searching:
child* - this will search for child, children, childhood, etc.
(child* or youth or teenage*) and (france or french) - combine terms in parentheses
Pre-18th Century Newspapers & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
While there were articles published before 1700, most of them can be found reprinted in books or online. Do a search in WorldCat using your topic and terms like documents, publications, articles, periodicals. Try GoogleBooks as well.
18th Century Newspaper & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
Some of the research tools listed below have the full text of primary sources and some will help you identify primary sources that you then need to request via Interlibrary Loan.
- Google News Archive SearchIndexes Time, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Guardian and The Washington Post, some magazines,
and aggregators including Factiva, LexisNexis, Thomson Gale and HighBeam Research, offfering citations and some content free,
with links to free and fee-based content. - Internet Library of Early Journals (British)A digital library of 18th and 19th Century journals from Oxford University.
- Project Gutenberg Books About PeriodicalsProject Gutenberg offers scattered issues of plain text of some US periodicals. The html version includes pictures.
- London GazetteSelected full text articles from 1666 to the present. Official Newspaper of Record in recording and disseminating official, regulatory and legal information in the United Kingdom.
- Google BooksGoogle Books now has a magazine article section. Use this Advanced Search Screen where you can limit to magazine articles.
19th Century Newspaper & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
Some of the research tools listed below have the full text of primary sources and some will help you identify primary sources that you then need to request via Interlibrary Loan.
- Harper's WeeklyAnother way to access the full text of Civil War Harper's Weekly magazines.
- Making of America, from the University of MichiganSame articles that you will find in Cornell's Making of America site, listed above, but the University of Michigan has different ways to search the documents.
- Google News Archive SearchIndexes Time, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Guardian and The Washington Post, some magazines,
and aggregators including Factiva, LexisNexis, Thomson Gale and HighBeam Research, offfering citations and some content free,
with links to free and fee-based content. - Home Economics Archive Research Tradition HistoryHEARTH offers free Internet access to the full text of thirteen journal runs and over 1,500 books: Journals include Good Housekeeping and Harper's Bazaar (1867-1900).
- Internet Library of Early Journals (British)A digital library of 18th and 19th Century journals from Oxford University.
- Project Gutenberg Books About PeriodicalsProject Gutenberg offers scattered issues of plain text of some US periodicals. The html version includes pictures.
- London GazetteSelected full text articles from 1666 to the present. Official Newspaper of Record in recording and disseminating official, regulatory and legal information in the United Kingdom.
- Google BooksGoogle Books now has a magazine article section. Use this Advanced Search Screen where you can limit to magazine articles.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Harper's Magazine ArchiveHarper's Magazine has been a popular American periodical since 1850. Selected articles are available full text at this web site.
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (Full text from GoogleBooks)This lists articles in 19th century periodicals by subject. You can use IDS to request copies of articles.
- Newspapers in Microform (full text from the Library of Congress)This book lists newspapers that were being published in towns and cities across the US in the 19th and 20th centuries. You can order these newspapers on microfilm via Interlibrary Loan.
20th Century Newspaper & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
Some of the research tools listed below have the full text of primary sources and some will help you identify primary sources that you then need to request via Interlibrary Loan.
- Periodical ArticlesA gateway site that lists numerous individual web sites with individual titles, some from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Project Gutenberg Books About PeriodicalsProject Gutenberg offers scattered issues of plain text of some US periodicals. The html version includes pictures.
- London GazetteSelected full text articles from 1666 to the present. Official Newspaper of Record in recording and disseminating official, regulatory and legal information in the United Kingdom.
- Google News Archive SearchIndexes Time, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Guardian and The Washington Post, some magazines,
and aggregators including Factiva, LexisNexis, Thomson Gale and HighBeam Research, offfering citations and some content free,
with links to free and fee-based content. - Google BooksGoogle Books now has a magazine article section. Use this Advanced Search Screen where you can limit to magazine articles.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Harper's Magazine ArchiveHarper's Magazine has been a popular American periodical since 1850. Selected articles are available full text at this web site.
- Newspapers in Microform (full text from the Library of Congress)This book lists newspapers that were being published in towns and cities across the US in the 19th and 20th centuries. You can order these newspapers on microfilm via Interlibrary Loan.
