Art & Art History Research

Access the searchable full text of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art, with continual updates, as well as over 7,000 art images. Topical articles cover all aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphics, art forms, architecture, decorative arts, and photography) from prehistory to the present.

The public collections are cataloged, managed, and shared by institutions such as Cornell University, Colby College, RISD, and MIT using JSTOR Forum, a cataloging and image management tool. They are also discoverable alongside the core collections of more than 2.5 million images from leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists .

Both an art encyclopedia and an image database, Artcyclopedia offers overviews of artists and movements with links to online images. Its mission is to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.

This historical collection is the Library of Congress' key contribution to the National Digital Library, and includes digital reproductions, a finding aid in the form of a catalog or register, and other accompaniments. Derived from the collections of the Library of Congress, this resource presents digital versions of source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States, including manuscripts, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, music, and maps.

This is a list of artists with work in MoMA s collection or who have
been included in a MoMA exhibition. It is updated continually.

Offers millions of photos from the American classic, LIFE Magazine, reflecting the culture and times of the 1860s through 1970s.