A Guide to Communication Studies: Article Databases

Academic Search Complete

This database covers a wide range of interdisciplinary topics including Communication Studies, Theater and Dramatic Arts.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Major areas of coverage include Communications, Mass Media, Journalism, Television, Radio, Newspaper Publishing, Speech, Broadcasting, Communication Theory, and Advertising.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a non-profit, independent organization that converts and maintains full-text digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Included are over 5700 full-text social sciences journals.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

This database indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Included are journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

PAIS International

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection

This collection features 13 databases that cover international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full text from over 500 important social science journals.

SocIndex with Full Text

This database contains the full text of 890 journals dating to 1908, 850 books and texts, and 16,800 conference papers. Abstracts for 1,300 "core" journals dating to 1895 are also included. Subjects include criminology/criminal justice, demography, ethnic/racial studies, gender studies, marriage/family studies, political sociology, religion, rural/urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, substance abuse & addictions, and violence.