Where to Find Industry Codes
NAICS - North American Industry Classification System.
Census Bureau website has bridge tables from this new industry coding system (NAICS) to former code (SIC).
The print edition of the manual is available on the main floor of the library in the reference collection -- 338.02012 N811
Standard Industrial Classification Search
Website from OSHA (Dept. of Labor) which has keyword searching for SIC codes (1987 ed.).
Databases for Finding Industry Profiles
Links to Reports from Individual Publishers or Vendors:
-
Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports (ABI/Inform)
Includes the quarterly reports which focus on individual countries and industries, and also monthly Monitor reports and others which focus on broader regions and sectors. Dates of coverage: 2018 - present. -
Encyclopedia of American Industries (Business Insights Essentials)
Look for the 'Search Within' box (upper left corner) to search within these reports. -
Encyclopedia of Global Industries (Business Insights Essentials)
Look for the 'Search Within' box (upper left corner) to search within these reports. -
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (Business Inisghts Essentials)
Look for the 'Search Within' box (upper left corner) to search within these reports. -
First Research Industry Profiles (ABI/Inform)
These reports offer very good profiles of industries. Use the search box on the page to search for reports on an industry. -
MarketLine Industry Profiles (Business Source Complete)
Add your keywords in the bottom text box, and use the 'Select a Field' drop-down menu to change the default search location to 'TX All Text'.
Links to databases:
Mergent Intellect™
Search by Company Name
- The default view is by company name, ticker or URL
- If you want companies outside of the US, then uncheck
- Start typing the company, ticker or URL and a list should appear for you to select the correct company
- Click on the Industry Details tab to get industry information
Search by Industry
- From the list below the search box select "Industry"
- If you want companies outside of the US, then uncheck
-
Type in the SIC Code, NAIC Code or a keyword
First Research Industry Studies
- When you click on the link you will see a button to continue, you may see another button, just click it again
- Click submit to access First Research
- You may search by Industry or Keyword
- There are sections for North America and International Global Content
Business Source Compete
- In the advanced search options change the Publication Type to Industry Profile
- Search by NAICS/Industry number
- For general articles about your industry ( not just reports)
- Change the "Select a field" menu to "NAICS Code or Description" and search
Business Insights: Essentials
- Change the drop down to the right of the search box to Industry
- Enter the name or the NAICS code
ProQuest One Business
- On the left side of the screen click on "Industry Reports"
- Search by NAICS Code or any other search term
- You can look up a specific industry and limit it to a specific country
ABI/INFORM Collection
- To find Industry Reports find "Document Type" under "More Search Options"
- Check the box next to "Industry Report"
- Search by NAICS Code
Open Access Resources
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsAn access point to multiple databases providing data in such areas as Inflation & Prices, Employment, Pay & Benefits, Productivity, Spending & Time Use, Workplace Injuries, etc.
- County Business PatternsCounty Business Patterns is Census Data in an annual series that provides sub national economic data by industry. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
- Current Industrial ReportsProvided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Economic CensusProvided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Statistics of U.S. BusinessesCensus Data by detailed employment size, by year, by state and by industry.
- U.S. Census BureauCollects and analyzes social, economic, and geographic data related to the conditions of the United States, states, and counties. Includes: Population & Housing Census - every 10 years, Economic Census - every 5 years, Census of Governments - every 5 years, and the American Community Survey - annually, as well as economic indicator surveys on various schedules
- BloombergBloomberg Markets offers industry and sector news and data.
- MSN MoneyContains company and industry ratios. Search by company name or ticker symbol. Based on stock data provided by Media General Financial Services.
- Yahoo! FinanceStock quotes, up to date news, company profiles, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates
