Environmental Sciences: Other Resources

An encyclopedia that compiled information from a variety of sources, intended to have an article for every species of organism on Earth.

Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

The data sets accessible through GBIF relate to evidence about more than 1.5 million species, collected over three centuries of natural history exploration and including current observations from citizen scientists, researchers and automated monitoring programmes.

A fully-reference database on fish species.

AmphibiaWeb provides information on amphibian declines, natural history, conservation, and taxonomy.

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. A product of the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

A database of mammalian taxonomy that can be used as a convenient on-line reference for identifying or verifying recognized scientific names and for taxonomic research.

The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. Version 1 aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).

This website contains information on how to control many invasive plants common to the Midwestern United States. Information was collected from both scientific literature and expert opinions and summarized.

Several of the DoI's bureaus deal with the environment of the United States:

• National Park Service
• Fish & Wildlife Service
• Bureau of Land Management
• Geological Survey
• Bureau of Reclamation

Information from the USDA runs the gamut from biotechnology to food safety to sustainable development.

Provides news and education, as well as access to major databases in pollution and environmental quality.

A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization of scientists founded to promote ecological science by improving communication among ecologists; raise the public's level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; increase the resources available for the conduct of ecological science; and insure the appropriate use of ecological science in environmental decision making by enhancing communication between the ecological community and policy-makers.

An international professional organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of the phenomena that affect the maintenance, loss, and restoration of biological diversity.

The American Geological Institute is a nonprofit federation of 45 geoscientific and professional associations that represents more than 120,000 geologists, geophysicists, and other earth scientists.

"A worldwide scientific community that advances, through unselfish cooperation in research, an understanding of Earth and space that is used for the benefit of humanity"

The Association for Women Geoscientists exists to promote the professional development of its members, to provide geoscience outreach to girls, and to encourage women to become geoscientists.

A coalition of independent member societies that serve the interests of biomedical and life scientists, particularly those related to public policy issues.

A nonprofit 501(c)(3) scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society.

Includes over 2700 fossil species

Earth Science News, Maps, Dictionary, Articles, Jobs

Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.