Library Research Desk: 765-677-2603
Library Circulation Desk: 765-677-2184
Media Services: 765-677-2540
The Library's most popular databases come from two companies, EBSCO and ProQuest. Their databases are compliant with accessibility standards, and they provide information about their accessible features and navigation commands.
See the links below to access EBSCO and ProQuest database portals. There are also link below with screen reader navigation tips.
Contact a Research Librarian if you're having any difficulty using library databases. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 765-677-2603 or make a research appointment at this link.
Two EBSCO databases that are good places to start for articles on most topics are Academic Search Complete and Masterfile Complete. Academic Search Complete offers both academic journal articles and general magazine articles. Masterfile Complete leans toward general readership with articles found in popular or newsstand publications.
All EBSCO databases offer accessibility features and provide a text to speech option for HTML Full Text articles. When an article is available in HTML Full Text, click on HTML (or hit ENTER key when selected), and there is an option to listen. Audio files in MP3 format can also be downloaded.
Newer PDFs in EBSCO are ADA compliant. EBSCO Publishing began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September, 2004. For assistance with older pdfs, contact Jackson Library at 765-677-2603 or at email@example.com.
EBSCO's QUICKSearch tool searches many databases at the library, many of which are compliant EBSCO databases. QUICKSearch also searches databases with different features. QUICKSearch's accessible features can be utilized to access all ebooks at the library as well as recent PDF articles that are in an accessible format, which can then be downloaded and opened in Adobe Reader for greater accessibility.
Here is a direct link to QUICKSearch: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&authtype=ip&ssoamp;scope=site&type=0&site=eds-live&custid=s8876267&groupid=main&profid=eds&lang=en
Access a Portal to all Jackson Library databases here: https://library.indwes.edu/databases.
The databases are accessible through subject / discipline pages or alphabetical pages. Students can tab to navigate the Database Portal, use arrow keys, and hit enter to select a database.
ProQuest databases contain many PDFs which are ADA compliant. However, older content was created from scanned images of original text that is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.' For assistance with older pdfs, contact a librarian at 765-677-2603 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
A Portal to select individual databases or search all of the ProQuest databases: https://search.proquest.com/databases/advanced?accountid=6363
For more information:
Below is a link to a portal to select EBSCO databases to search. The databases are listed in alphabetical order. Also below are links to a document with JAWS screen reader commands for JAWS screen readers and a webpage with several other methods of navigating. A few standard keyboard keys can also be used.
Keyboard commands for several screen readers are available at the following link: Accessibility -- Navigation Guide.
Gale databases (such as Opposing Viewpoints in Context or Literature Resource Center) provide a Listen function for full-text articles. Wherever the Listen icon is present, there is the option to have the document read aloud. The Listen tool also allows you to download the audio file as a MP3.
For more information
Quick LinksLibrary Hours
Connect With Us
Library ServicesResearch Help