Language and Literature: Find Articles
Search Multiple Ebsco Databases
Teaching Language and Literature
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Professional Development Collection
Journals in this database include: Theory into Practice, Journal of Research in Reading, Modern Language Quarterly, and Review of Educational Research
Dive into these Library Databases for Literary Criticism and Literature-Related Articles
|
Academic Search Complete (Ebscohost) This database is a good starting point for research as it covers a wide range of interdisciplinary topics including communication studies, language and linguistics, writing, literature criticism, film studies, and drama. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left. Communication and Mass Media Complete (Ebscohost) Major areas of coverage include communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, and language and linguistics. Examples of journals include: Language and Literature, Literature in Performance, Language, Interaction & Acquisition, Studies in Language, Journal of Child Language, and Written Language & Literacy. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left. JSTOR is a database that offers a deep reservoir of digitized print journals covering many disciplines with articles dating as far back as the 1800s. Includes journals like: The English Journal, Comparative Literature Studies, College English, Language, Poetics Today, Victorian Studies, TESOL Quarterly, The Modern Language Journal, Poetry, and Studies in English Literature. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This database indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Included are journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. MagillOnLiterature Plus (Ebscohost) MagillOnLiterature is a source for editorially reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature. This database includes the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, such as: Masterplots, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Magill's Book Reviews. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left. MLA International Bibliography (Ebscohost) MLA International Bibliography is an index of books and articles published on the modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Over 66,000 books and articles, 4,000 periodicals, and hundreds of dissertations are included, as well as 50,000 linked citations to articles in JSTOR's collection dating to the 1800s. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left. Oxford English Dictionary Online The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, historical context, and pronunciation of 600,000 words--past and present--from across the English-speaking world. |
Several databases touch on topics in literature as it relates to philosophical, religious, or historical influence. If your subject includes one of these areas, e.g. C. S. Lewis or transcendentalism, it may be helpful to include one of the following databases in your search:
ATLA Religion Database (Ebscohost)
A database of the American Theological Library Association coveirng Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in society. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left.
Christian Periodical Index (Ebscohost)
An index of 140 evangelical publications offering perspective on topics like art, education, history, literature, medicine, music, nursing, philosophy, science, and sociology. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left.
Historical Abstracts (Ebscohost)
A comprehensive database covering the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century forward. This Ebscohost database can be searched in combination with other Ebscohost databases with the widget at the left.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebscohost)
With hundreds of full-text and scholarly journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. The Religion & Philosophy Collection provides coverage of key theological and philosophical resources spanning over 100 years.
