Finding Articles
Image credit: Timothy Hughes Rare and Early Newspapers
Image credit: Library of Congress
Recommended Databases
Use these databases to search for articles on Philosophy and Philosophers:
-
JSTOR: Scholarly Journal ArchiveArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
-
Religion and Philosophy CollectionWith hundreds of full-text and scholarly journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. The Religion & Philosophy Collection provides coverage of key theological and philosophical resources spanning over 100 years.
-
Religion DatabaseReligion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Subject Specific Databases
Search for a philosopher's name in a database relating to the topic you are interested in:
Search Tips - Researching PHILOSOPHERS
When you search a database, try to locate the SUBJECTS for your philosopher and/or topic:
These are the blue links shown below. You can click on them to limit searching to only those subjects.
Then you can add a keyword or another subject to the search, such as "sin" below:
