Research Guides: Education (K-12): Databases

IWU Databases Covering K-12 Education

General

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary database covering all academic areas including education and its related disciplines. Covers subjects such as: academic achievement, alternative education, and educational innovations.

Dissertations and Theses

A database with over 26,000 full-text dissertations and theses related to education. Top subjects include: school administration, educational psychology, teaching, curricula, and guidance counseling.

Education Journals (Proquest)

A database indexing over 1000 education publications with 600 in full text. Includes primary education through high school education, as well as special education and home schooling.

ERIC

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, includes journals, books, media, reports, theses, dissertations, government documents and bibliographies.

JSTOR: Scholarly Journal Archive

A scholarly journal archive providing more than 100 education periodicals dating to the 1800s, including The Radical Teacher, Child Development, Curriculum Inquiry, and Educational Researcher.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database offers 520 high-quality education journals, with nearly 350 peer-reviewed, and more than 200 educational reports.

Specialized

Christian Periodical Index

An index of 140 evangelical publications offering perspective on subjects including Christian education, moral education, mentoring, modeling, and education philosophy.

Educator.com

A database of video presentations by leading high school and college teachers on topics in math, science and computer programming. Lectures use graphical slides for demonstration. (free resource on campus)

MAS Complete

Periodicals contained in MAS Complete cover a wide range of subject areas that are of interest to high-school students including art, history, sports, music, film, travel, science, the Internet, fashion, religion, nature, hobbies, current events, fiction and much more.

Middle Search Plus

A full-text database offering popular middle school magazines with a reading level (Lexile number) assigned to most articles. Also includes thousands of biographies and historical essays.

Primary Search

A database for elementary students with 80 full-text magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level (Lexile number). Also provides thousands of photos, maps and flags.

Teachingbooks.net

Offers multimedia resources to enhance student reading experiences, including teaching guides, lesson plans, author interviews, book trailers, audio/video performances and book lists aligned to standards.

TOPICSearch

A database designed for teachers and students to use in exploring current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

Education (K-12): Databases

IWU Databases Covering K-12 Education

Search Multiple Ebsco Databases

Additional Online Databases