Biblical Research/Exegesis: Bible Dictionaries
What is a Bible Dictionary?
A Bible Dictionary (or Bible Encyclopedia) provides important facts and background information regarding a biblical topic. Depending on the particluar dictionary, entries contain information about:
- people (Abraham, Mary, Paul)
- places (Jerusalem, Ephesus)
- events (destruction of the temple, Jerusalem Council)
- topics (persecution, family, hospitality)
- books of the Bible (1 Peter, Galatians)
- theological concepts (atonement, sanctification)
Theological Dictionaries: Focus on the theological meaning of concepts and words from the Bible. Sometimes entries are listed in Greek or Hebrew. You can use a Strong's Concordance or Interlinear Bible to identify the word if you do not know the original language.
Concordances
The New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by Call Number: REF 220.5203 ST88 2010ISBN: 9781418541699
The New Englishman's Hebrew Concordance : Coded to Strong's Concordance Numbering System by Call Number: REF 221.03 W639N
The Interlinear Bible Hebrew-Greek-English 4 Volume Edition with Strong's Concordance Numbers above Each Word by Call Number: 220.4 B471I 2005 (2nd Floor)ISBN: 9781565639805
Search Catalog
How to Find Bible Dictionaries in the Library Catalog:
Do a "Keyword" search for "bible dictionaries"
Theological Dictionaries
The NIV Theological Dictionary of New Testament Words by Call Number: REFERENCE 225.3 N42V v.1-3ISBN: 0310216508
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis by Call Number: REF 221.3 N42VISBN: 0310214009
Recommended Dictionaries
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the BibleCall Number: REFERENCE 220.3 IN8S v.1-5ISBN: 0687054273
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Wisdom, Poetry & WritingsCall Number: REFERENCE 223.003 D561ISBN: 9780830817832
